YouTube alerts only for subscriptions?

All, I am new to Bark so trying to figure everything out… so far I am LOVING the security features. However, I’ve noticed for weeks the only alerts I am receiving is for YouTube subscriptions, which says my child didn’t necessarily view the content but that it was found on a subscription. I haven’t received 1 alert for content my child has actually watched. I’d love to believe that it’s because my kids haven’t came across anything bad, that they are angels and that all the restrictions I have set up works but I find that a little hard to believe :slight_smile: could this mean maybe I didn’t set it up correctly? Anyone else observing this?

Thanks so much for your thoughts!

Hi there, Brittany. Thanks for writing in. :slight_smile: Happy to offer some insight!

YouTube is one of the few platforms that Bark monitors in two ways:

1: Via your child’s connected account.

Bark monitors the videos your child posts, comments made to those videos, and new videos posted to your child’s user and channel subscriptions.

…This means that you’ve provided your child’s YouTube account (login credentials). No matter from where your child’s accesses YouTube, so long as they are using their account, those activities are monitored - even if they use YouTube from another computer, or signed in to a smartTV, or gaming console, that account is monitored for the above activities.
If you’d like to not receive alerts on channels your child is subscribed to, you can ignore alerts from those channels by clicking “ignore” on those alerts, or also (if you’re like me) have your child unsubscribe from 300+ channels. :wink:

2: via your child’s connected device (if applicable)

Bark monitors YouTube views and searches only on connected Android devices and computers with the Bark Chrome extension (including incognito browsing).