Instagram Under 13, how do you tell your kids no

First of all, I apologize for the title of this post, but I could not think of any that would encapsulate the situation.

I’m hoping that there is a parent or two out there with a similar experience that can help me by sharing what has worked or didn’t work for them.

First some background on the situation. And please forgive me for how long this might be, I’m not very good at explaining things.

My eleven your old daughter has been using Instagram for awhile now. Maybe for about 6 months. Even though, I realized we should have monitored this, we didn’t and she started to get depressed and doing things to hurt herself. We looked through her Instagram account and found that she’s been chatting with strangers, other kids that were also depressed and cutting themselves. She’s made several post from cartoons she’s made, something called Gacha Life, that shows her talking about how she hates herself and wishes she was dead. There’s also animations that contain a lot of cussing, violence and name calling.

We had temporarily taken away Instagram and got her into therapy. We made an agreement in therapy that she could start using Instagram, but only chat with friends she knows in real life and that I’d have to approve her post. But before we could get to that point i found that she’s been using another app that functions a lot like Instagram. Where she’s been posting more of her animations and even the ones I’ve disapproved of on another app called Funimate.

So to me she has broken the rules.

We did find that she was making post on YouTube that she didn’t tell us about, this was easily on and it seemed easier to maintain than something like Instagram.