How many of you ONLY use Bark to monitor your kid's electronic life?

Just curious if anyone is ONLY using Bark to monitor your child’s “electronic life” for social media, Internet, etc?

I personally have a very tech savvy kid (I’m an IT professional myself, so she learned by watching me) and she isn’t willfully defiant but she’s curious. She’ll find away around things if she can, just to see if she can sometimes.

So I’ve got a few things I run in concert with Bark to block the real nasty stuff out there too, like a Content Filter, Unified Threat Management (it’s geek talk for Anti-Virus, Anti-Malware, anti-cyber bad guys) platform and so on.

I’m not saying anything negative about Bark at all here, just to be clear. It’s the one tool in my arsenal that I just TRUST to do the job. Everything else is fiddly to an annoying level.

Just curious how many parents out there are going a bit overboard like me, really. (’-’*)

I use a combination of Bark and Google Family Link on my son’s Palm phone (smartphone). The televisions throughout the house have parental controls activated to restrict explicit content (for example, if he tries to access Netflix 12+ content he needs the pin code). We don’t have a common family computer right now, but he does use a thinkpad that his school issued for homework. He only uses it in the common areas (kitchen) etc. and it has filters as well. What content filter do you use? What devices does your child access? Mine is 10 and has an Android smartphone, uses the Family iPad from time to time, his thinkpad, and then a PS4.

1 Like